edwardlaneuk wrote:
http://www.youplay.it/play/ws_GameMove.asp?GameID=632933&UserID=edwardlaneukat least on Turn 23 and definitely on the current turn (24) there appears to be a bug with movement for Duc Bourgogne.
It has no rigging, but it can't rotate - clicking that says 'unable to move' but the rules say
A ship which has a movement allowance of 0 may still turn in place 60 degrees.
It's acting as if I'm fouled - and the nearest other ship is 2 hexes away.
I thought perhaps I'd got that wrong - and that the rule said ships with 0 move could still rotate "unless they had zero rigging"?
but now (belatedly) checking closer I see that
When all rigging sections are gone, the ship cannot move, but it can turn once each turn.
So (not suspecting a bug) I sailed conquerant toward royal oak 'safe' in the knowledge that he couldn't rotate to rake me as I approached.
But that's obviously wrong (as Royal oak - who also has no rigging) did turn to Rake me.
Perhaps the rules are different for 1sol and 2sol that don't have rigging?
It's a Basic game, so Basic rules apply:
Regardless of its movement allowance, a ship may always turn once per turn. EXCEPTION: Fouled ships and riggingless ships (see below).
----
When a dismasted ship (lost all rigging) is drifting, it will have to wait 1, 2 or 3 turns between each 60� turn depending on its turning ability:
A ship with turning ability of 3 waits 1 turn.
A ship with turning ability of 2 waits 2 turns.
A ship with turning ability of 1 waits 3 turns.
If you check, Duc Bougogne has now Move: 0 Turn: 1 (below the 0 0 0 0 ship image) while in the previous turns it had Move:0 Turn:0 because it had to wait.
You should be able to turn it now.
Does it still tell you that you can't turn?
I did try moving forward and then turning - it said 'you cannot move that fast' and 'you cannot turn that fast' but then coming back to it afresh it allowed me to turn
I'd not seen the basic turning rules before - thanks for pointing me at them.