Nick wrote:
Hi Pilots, I have a tricky question about Canvas Eagle related with pilot/observer wounds.
Suppose you are flying a Caproni CA3, with one pilot, a copilot and 2 observer and you draw a chit that say: "Test for pilot wound". In this case rules says: "Only check the pilot for a wound" but what about the copilot ? Should you also test him for wounds ?
On the other hand, when a "Test for observer wound" is drawn, should you ignore the copilot or is he considered an observer ? Suppose your Pilot suffer a wound, can you switch to copilot without any penalty ?
This problem came out some days ago and we were not able to find a general rule of thumb for planes with more than 2 seats.
Do you have suggestions ?
Thanks, Nick.
Rules 12.03 answers these questions:
12.03 Multi-Engine Aircraft Crew: If a damage marker requires an observer to be wounded or killed this will refer to a "gunner"; a die roll may be required to determine which gunner has been hit. Similarly, if a pilot and co-pilot are both present and a damage marker requires a pilot to be wounded or killed, a die roll may be required to determine which pilot has been hit. If the pilot is killed or wounded, the co-pilot may take over flying, providing the aircraft has a living co-pilot. If a pilot or gunner is killed, they cannot be hit again on a subsequent turn by another damage marker; damage markers indicating a crew member hit, only applies to living crew members.
So, more specifically:
Nick wrote:
Suppose you are flying a Caproni CA3, with one pilot, a copilot and 2 observer and you draw a chit that say: "Test for pilot wound". In this case rules says: "Only check the pilot for a wound" but what about the copilot ? Should you also test him for wounds ?
You randomly choose between testing the pilot and testing the copilot, only one of the two will be tested for wounds.
Nick wrote:
On the other hand, when a "Test for observer wound" is drawn, should you ignore the copilot or is he considered an observer ?
Ignore the co-pilot, "observer wound" is only against "gunners", so co-pilot is not affected.
Nick wrote:
Suppose your Pilot suffer a wound, can you switch to copilot without any penalty ?
I would assume "yes" as there are no penalties specified. Rules specifying penalties on Dual Controls are targeted to "Observers as pilots", not to co-pilots. Actually, if you see "Landing Table", you can see that co-pilot has a "+0" modifier, so he's treated like a normal pilot.
|