Message text Some people are concerned about this wonderful new introduction, i'll try to explain how do it work
-Before your move, u can choose the lenght of your strafe in the case you get a target in your range. Select, for every distance (Guns range is 3 hexes, plus dist 0), the lenght of your burst (medium/long). Long burst got a slightly better bonus.
-If you fire a long burst, your guns may jam on a die result of 5-6. That is rolled after your roll for damages. This mean that if u shot a long burst, you roll the dice two times. The second is to check if your guns are jammed or not.
-If your guns are jammed, you can try to unjam those in the next turn. You can try to unjam, making a straight maneuver, non acrobatic. ON a roll of 4,5,6 your guns unjam. This roll happen after the combat phase (if the webmaster inserted it as in the rules). That mean, if your guns jam, in the next turn you can't fire in any case. You may succeed to unjam, and be able to fire in the next turn.
Tactical consideration
Long burst isn't so much better of medium. On the same dice roll, it would add just a B or R on a low/medium Fire Value Table, and a R on a high FVT. Plus it got a high probability of jam your guns : 33%. If you jam you'll plane will be harmless for at least one of the next turns. Being unlucky u can stay jammed for 3-4 turns, where u probably going most of all S maneuver. If u are tailed, or under threat, and have to move R/L, a MG jam is a really disastrous tactical issue. So you should never fire a long burst, imho, at distance higher than 1 hex. Even at distance 1, if the map is crowed with enemies, i strongly suggest you to don't use it. Consider to use long burst only when u got other bonus adding up, like "fired target" or "tailing", and in a high FVT.
On an aggressive stance, if your enemy have the gun clearly jammed (didn't fired in a turn) u can use this as an additional information on his move. He will not be forced to go S, but he should go S (non acrobatic) if he want to try to unjam. Consider that an unjamming enemy isn't able to fire in the turn next the one he was jammed, having he unjammed or not.
Hope this help 
--- Message edited by Zif |
|
|