mjk1964 wrote:
for troll: morgh goes to second round by points, he has the right to escape with engine down!
I understand the rules, but the result bites! 
This may be a unique situation, but a contingency should be allowed in future editions of this tournament. I disabled his craft in both games, driving him off, and I was flying with power on the board at game end, in the absence of my opponent, essentially prevailing in both encounters.
It does not seem equitable or fair that a pilot can disable his opponents plane and drive him off in both games and still lose the match, especially in tournament play.
It seems to me that a pilot who is forced to leave due to no engine, rather than out of fuel, should count as a kill for tournament play purposes.
I can see the other side of the coin, that by keeping the matches close to his side of the board, Morgh kept open the option of retiring quickly in case he lost his engine and therefore was playing within the scope of the rules. This was a good tactical decision on Morgh's part, I give him credit for that.
I am just saying that if the point of the tournament is to minimize the randomness factor of special damage chits by playing Standard Rules, then a pilot who succeeds in disabling his opponents plane should be compensated for that feat, have it count for something, even if that disabled plane is successful in leaving the playing field.
I propose that future editions of this tournament keep all of the same rules except that a plane who retires due to engine damage, not out of fuel, counts as a kill for his opponent for tournament play purposes.
Just my opinion.
Troll |